Skip navigation
ADPH seal logo

Honorary membership

Honorary membership is awarded to individuals whose work or service has been particularly significant. Honorary members are not able to vote or hold elected posts on our Council or Board and are usually given complimentary membership for a term of five years.  

We ask our Honorary members to: 

  • Continue to contribute their professional expertise and support our policy work 
  • Adhere to the high levels of ethical, professional and personal standards as defined by the Nolan principles 
  • Not seek or accept preferential rates or benefits in kind for private transactions carried out with any bodies or individuals with which they have had, or may have, official dealings with on behalf of ADPH 
  • Register any material interest – personal, professional, financial or otherwise, which may have a bearing on their membership  


Following the completion of an initial term of five years, the Board may renew Honorary membership for one further five-year term.  

The appointment of Honorary Members will be reported to the AGM. 

 Current Honorary Members:

  • Dr Janet Atherton, OBE (2016 – present) 
  • Dr Andrew Furber (2018 – present) 
  • Paul Ogden (2018 – present) 
  • Jo Bibby (2022 – present) 
  • Dame Carol Black (2023 – present)
  • Eugene Milne, MBE (2023 – present)
  • Prof Jim McManus (2023 – present)
  • Dagmar Zeuner (2023 – present)

To nominate someone for Honorary membership, please read our nomination guide and form. 

Previous Honorary Members: 

  • Dr Tony Jewell (2011 – 2021) 
  • Paul Lincoln, OBE (2011 – 2021) 
  • Julia Ellis (2017 – 2022) 
Back to top